Notre Dame was within comparatively recent times surrounded with streets so narrow that vehicular traffic was impossible. Amongst the most characteristic were the Rue de Glatigny and the Rue de Marmousets, which, as late as 1865, preserved the dimensions, and something of the aspect, of a side street in the middle ages. The quartier thus intersected literally teemed with churches of which nothing remains. Amongst them perhaps the most important were those dedicated to Saint-Landry, Sainte-GeneviÈve des Ardents, Saint-Pierre aux Boeufs, Saint-Aguan, Saint-Marine, Saint-Luc, Saint-Jean le Rond, Saint-Denis au Pays and Saint-Christophe. None of them appear to have been large, and of some the origin and history remain obscure. On the south side of the Cathedral stood the Palais Episcopal, which was constructed by Maurice de Sully and added to by Matiffas de Bucy and other prelates. On Feb. 14th, 1831, it was attacked by the mob, and five hours sufficed for its complete destruction. The contents included a library of 20,000 volumes, a collection of 1,500 The The Sacristy was formerly a part of the Palais Episcopal. It had been rebuilt by Soufflot, whose work was partially destroyed in 1831. A new sacristy has been constructed by Viollet-le-Duc in the style of the thirteenth century. The exterior is richly ornamented with statues and pinnacles. It communicates with the south ambulatory of the choir by means of two covered passages, one of which leads into the Sacristie du Chapitre, which contains a large hall, the room of the Chapter above, which is the cathedral treasury, and a vestry for the canons. The great hall has stained glass windows in which bishops of Paris are represented. It contains a crucifix and two statuettes by Corbon, a fine armoire decorated with paintings of scenes in the life of St. Denis. There are pictures in various parts of the building by Vaulos, Salvator Rosa, Lebrun, Louis Testelin, Charles Poerson and others, but none of them are of much note. A picturesque little cloister, with a fountain in the middle surmounted by a crucifix, is one of the agreeable features of the building. Its eastern arcade is glazed, the windows representing scenes in the life of Ste. GeneviÈve. The Treasury, once endowed with enormous riches, was despoiled at the Revolution of all but a few objects of value. There still remains the reputed Crown of Thorns (supposed The somewhat obtrusively picturesque modern building to the west of the Sacristy is known as the PresbytÈre. It has been often ridiculed, and at times rather fiercely denounced, but if any building was to be erected on the site, it seems difficult to imagine anything less offensive. It is pleasing and unpretentious, and contrasts only too favourably with the dull houses of the Rue du The space at the back of the Cathedral is laid out as a garden. This is modern and somewhat formal, but it affords a fine view of the east end, and constitutes a welcome oasis of trees and grass in a grey waste of commonplace buildings. In the centre is a fountain with a statue of the Virgin and Child, and fragments of sculpture and carving taken from the church at different times lie about. The reader who wishes to understand at a glance the various changes which have taken place in that part of the French metropolis which lies in the very The huge open space west of the cathedral is the Place du Parvis Notre-Dame. This oblong place far exceeds the church itself in area, and gives to the west front a somewhat dwarfed appearance. On the left-hand side (looking east) is the vast Hotel Dieu, the modern name of the hospital, known as the Maison Dieu, which for centuries has been associated with Notre Dame. The present building was only completed in 1877. It is from the designs of M. Diet, and is by no means of an ornamental character, although the total cost was 36,400,000 francs. On the west side of the Place du Parvis are the barracks of the Garde Republicaine. Close to them is one of those open-air flower markets which are so charming and characteristic a feature of the Paris of to-day. |